SLPP to support new govt under PM Ranil Wickremesinghe

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) says it will support all the steps taken by a government under Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe to resolve the economic crisis, while safeguarding the party’s right of independence.

This was expressed by SLPP General Secretary Sagara Kariyawasam today (13).

Meanwhile the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) and the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) have opposed the appointment of Wickremesinghe as Prime Minister.

The SJB leader Sajith Premadasa has said the party will not nominate any of its members to the Cabinet to be appointed by the President.

SLFP leader and former President Maithripala Sirisena said today that the party has decided not to accept any portfolios or be part of a government under PM Wickremesinghe.

The 10 political parties that quit the previous government and became independent have decided to remain in the opposition and function as an independent group.

“All the members belonging to the 10-party alliance will remain in the opposition as an independent group and support the good steps of the government. But we will not allow the country to become anarchic,” MP Wimal Weerawansa said.